Dreaming of our Forever Home – thoughts as we approach military retirement

February 11th,  will mark my husbands 19th anniversary in the military. I am so very proud of him and his commitment. I cannot believe how fast time flies. I have been with him for half his career and in that time we have had many amazing adventures. Our most recent (PCS) adventure, being here in Kodiak, Alaska.

2016-02-09_0001

Thinking about my husbands anniversary you can’t help but think about “life after the military.” Soon, life as we know it will forever be changed. All he has known for (almost) 20 years, is his amazing job within the military.

The Special Education teacher in me thinks of the word Transition…

The type A personality in me wants to start making a Plan….

The selfish part of me continues to add pins to my “forever home” board on Pinterest.

The free-spirit in me doesn’t want our Adventures to End…

 

As we look back:

  • we are from neighboring hometowns…both our parents have moved and retired to different states…
  • some of our closest friends are all over the country…
  • half of our belongings are currently in long-term storage and the other half is here with us in Kodiak…
  • logistics are going to be FUN! 🙂

2016-02-09_0002.jpg

As we look forward:

  • My husband wonders, “what is my next career going to be?”
  • what industry should he start looking in?
  • what region, location, area is best for us?
  • Where is the best place for our family to spend more then….(WOAH!!!), 4 years?!

 

When you have lived all over the country and have an appreciation for so many places – how do you choose?

I foresee the next 5 years for our family being a lot of growth, reflection and new adventures. I wouldn’t have it any other way. It is a scary yet exciting time….

2016-02-10_0005

Some things we have done/plan on doing to make sure that our transition as smooth as possible for our family is:

  1. Taking advantage of the GI bill: My husband took advantage of the GI Bill and received his BA. I currently am furthering my education and hope to receive my Masters before he is out.
  2. TAPS was created to give members of the armed forces within 180 days of separation or retirement. TAP offers a three-day workshop that all ex-military job seekers should use. By attending a Transition Assistance Program workshop you are giving yourself the training and information on the following topics:
    • Career exploration
    • Job search strategies
    • Resume, cover letter, and interview preparation
  3. One of the hardest tasks for some, is translating your military skills into a civilian career. A great resource that was recommended to us is the Military Skills Translator. It will “translate your military skills, experience and training to find career opportunities that best align with your capabilities.”

“When one door closes another door opens, but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door, that we do not see the ones which open for us.” – Alexander Graham Bell

2016-02-10_0004.jpg

Meanwhile, I get to dream, fantasize and plan of where we may live and what our “Forever Home” will one day look like 🙂

Or maybe he will just stay in the military for another 10 years 😉

Happy anniversary my Love♥

♥Anchored in Alaska

 

»What have you and your family done to make transitioning out of the military and into civilian life easier?   « please share your thoughts!!

6 thoughts on “Dreaming of our Forever Home – thoughts as we approach military retirement

  1. In the short time I am following you, I grew fond of your blog 🙂 I don´t know anyone who would have been in the military (Slovakia where I come from is a very small country with a tiny professional army) but I think everyone preparig to do the leap towards the unknown is passing through these thoughts…I wish you the best of luck and am looking foraward to following your further journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After Army life is hard. We are still trying to figure it out and he will be at 2 years in June. He is still in the Guard and has struggled to find a good career after the Army but he will get there. We want to go back to CA where we are both from but it is just so $$$ we can’t do it right now. Good luck to you as you make the transition to civilian life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi i just wanted to say this is a great blog ! I’ve always been fascinated by the popularity of Alaska and now i understand why people seem to like it so much. I’d love to visit there some day – especially when the salmon are running. Must be a wild/fun time !! Keep writing & i’ll keep reading. Thanks !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

